Google Ads User Data Retention Policy
Retention periods for information in the user’s Google Account for advertising products
Signed-in Google users can delete past searches, browsing history, and other authenticated activity from their Google Accounts. We retain this information, and it may inform the user’s signed-in ads profile, until a user deletes it. When these events are deleted, they will no longer contribute to that user’s signed-in ads profile. For more information about the data deletion functionalities available in My Activity, please refer to the My Activity help center. Signed-in users can also view and edit their Google account ads profile in Ads Settings.
Retention periods for data uploaded by marketers
Some advertising products include features that give marketers the ability to upload audience lists for targeting on Google media and third party sites. In these cases, the marketer using these features is in control of the membership duration of the uploaded list.
- For more information on how to delete users from lists uploaded into the DoubleClick Campaign Manager, please refer to the DoubleClick Campaign Manager help center.
- For more information on how to set membership durations for AdWords Customer Match lists, please refer to the AdWords help center.
Retention periods for Google storing information not in the user’s Google Account
User profile information associated with advertising cookies and advertising IDs is also stored in databases that can be accessed for ads serving in real-time. Data stored in these databases is either deleted or anonymized after 18 months.
User data tied to cookies and advertising IDs is also used to detect and prevent ad fraud and ensure that users don’t see ads that they’ve blocked in the past. In these cases, or in cases where Google stores this data on behalf of its customers (e.g. in Google Analytics), data may be stored for periods longer than those specified above.